Gabe Newell headed to AIAS Hall of Fame

Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences inducting Valve cofounder as 17th member of Hall of Fame.


Valve founder Gabe Newell has been named to the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences' Hall of Fame, the group announced today.

Newell will become the 2013 AIAS Hall of Fame inductee for his leadership at Valve, the company that created the Source game engine, Steam, and franchises like Half-Life, Counter-Strike, Left 4 Dead, Portal, and Team Fortress. The AIAS said these products and properties have "done much to push the interactive entertainment industry forward."

Newell will become the 17th member of the AIAS Hall of Fame. He follows last year's inductee, Epic Games chief technology officer Tim Sweeney, as well as BioWare founders Greg Zeschuk and Ray Muzyka (2011), Mark Cerny (2010), and Bruce Shelley (2009).

"Gabe is one of the most cherished and respected figures in the industry not only for his technological innovations in advancing many of today's highly successful video games, but also for his unique stance towards leadership and management," said AIAS president Martin Rae in a statement. "Gabe's vision for the interactive industry has created lasting effects that have completely reshaped this generation's digital distribution model, paving the way for independent developers and creating an invaluable service for consumers. It is a great honor to have Gabe inducted into the Academy's Hall of Fame."

Prior to founding Valve in the summer of 1996, Newell was employed at Microsoft for 13 years.

According to the AIAS, induction into the Hall of Fame is "bestowed on game creators who have been instrumental in the development of highly influential games and moving a particular genre forward." Newell will be inducted by Epic Games president Mike Capps at the 16th annual Interactive Achievement Awards, set for February 7 at the Hard Rock Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. As in previous years, the ceremony will be part of the D.I.C.E. Summit, which Newell will also provide the keynote address for.

Previous AIAS Hall of Fame inductees include Shigeru Miyamoto (Mario, Zelda), Sid Meier (Civilization), Will Wright (SimCity, the Sims), and Peter Molyneux (Fable). A full list of Hall of Famers along with their contributions to the industry is available at the AIAS website.

Read and Post Comments | Get the full article at GameSpot

"Gabe Newell headed to AIAS Hall of Fame" was posted by Eddie Makuch on Thu, 15 Nov 2012 08:10:20 -0800
Filed under: Video Games


No Comments »

Leave a Reply

Back to Top