Usher, Waka Flocka Flame And Far East Movement Release Albums; Justin Bieber Performs On ‘Today Show’

Welcome to Buzzworthy's "The Week In Pop," where we round up new album releases, talk show musical guests and TV performances by your favorite pop stars and more (so you don't have to).

Get into the groove this Tuesday with a mix of albums housing songs destined for the dance floor and poolside jamming. Usher releases album number seven rife with bedroom come-ons and club joints, while Canada's Metric wrap electropop around intelligent themes on their fifth effort. Waka Flocka Flame, Far East Movement and Diplo drop the hip-hop beats that will flavor the summer, while Hot Chip's synth-happy gems inspire the romantic in all of us. Meanwhile on the telly, Justin Bieber gets the weekend party started on "Today Show."


Tuesday, June 12

+ UsherLooking 4 Myself: Whether he's coaxing someone out of their clothes ("Lemme See" featuring Rick Ross), onto the dance floor ("Euphoria"), or both ("Scream"), Usher keeps it silky smooth, from his soulful R&B vocals to his falsetto trills. He also gets more personal on tracks like the Diplo-produced "Climax," which the recently divorced Usher described as "the crescendo of a relationship" to MTV News.

Waka Flocka FlameTriple F Life: Friends, Fans And Family: He told MTV Hive that on his last album "I was mad as hell," and that for this one "I'm just going for the crown of king crunk daddy, for this party scene that developed into pop." And he does bring the (booty-bumping) party with the Drake-assisted "Round of Applause" and "I Don't Really Care" featuring Trey Songz.

Far East Movement, Dirty Bass: They made splashes in 2010 with "Rocketeer" and "Like A G6" -- the first song by an Asian-American band to top a Billboard chart. Now Dirty Bass's Deluxe Version streets, featuring two exclusive songs "Shake Ya Rump" and "Change Your Life" with Flo Rida. Other guests include Justin Bieber and a RedFoo-assisted remix ("Live My Life"), Tyga ("Dirty Bass") and Tokio Hotel ("If I Die Tomorrow").

Check out more new album releases and upcoming TV appearances and performances after the jump.

+ MetricSynthetica: The Canadian group fronted by the sultry Emily Haines craft another charming electropop-rock gem. They blend glammier stylings with current sociopolitical concerns on "Youth Without Youth," mine modern, infectious pop on "Breathing Under Water" and the confessional "Dreams So Real" pleasingly buzzes in fuzzy melodies. Stream it in full before its release.

Hot ChipIn Our Heads: If there's one thing the quintet is revealing as to what's inside their electro-grooving minds here, it's that love and romance is very much alive (and danceable), whether it be for people, music or going hard on the dance floor. They reflect on it during the soulful "Look At Where We Are," yearn for it on "Let Me Be Him," and  insist on it for "Don't Deny Your Heart." By closer "Always Been Your Love," they've achieved it.

+ Ed Sheeran+: The BRIT-Award winning ginger hit No. 1 on UK charts with + and now it streets stateside. He got a cosign from Jamie Foxx, whose team took him under their wing and he earns a "+" for his songwriting variety, which ranges from acoustic numbers ("The A Team") to a funkier side ("You Need Me, I Don't Need You.") He also gets a "++" for his cat love, like the one in his "Drunk" video."

+ Diplo, Express Yourself EP:  The six-song EP is the first solo release in four years for the in-demand producer (and Major Lazer co-creator). It opens with the title track, which marks Diplo's entry into New Orleans Bounce. What's that sound like? Imagine a gajillion rhythms and beats assaulting your mind (in a good way), commanding you to shake it, which you'll do all the way through to the closing, genre-blending "Set It Off."

+ Matt TokaMatt Toka EP: While this is Matt Toka's debut release, he's been wracking up YouTube counts with homemade videos of his own songs (along with covers of Adele, Coldplay and The Beastie Boys) long beforehand. His previously YouTube-only tracks "666" and "Ode To My Family" get officially released here along with four more original songs.


Monday, June 11
"Conan" -- Grace Potter And The Nocturnals
"The View" -- Gladys Knight

Tuesday, June 12
"VH1's Big Morning Buzz" -- Ed Sheeran
"Tonight Show With Jay Leno" -- Meiko
"Jimmy Kimmel Live" -- Cee Lo Green, Goodie Mob
"Conan" -- Eric Hutchinson
"Live With Kelly" -- Raven-Symoné

Wednesday, June 13 on MTV
"MTV's Hip Hop POV" -- Episode 9 premieres!

Wednesday, June 13
"Late Night With Jimmy Fallon" -- Ice-T, Norah Jones, Matt "Guitar" Murphy
"Conan" -- Kids These Days

Thursday, June 14, on MTV
"America's Best Dance Crew" -- The dancers take on week 10!

Thursday, June 14
"VH1's Big Morning Buzz" -- Ice-T
"Tonight Show With Jay Leno" -- We Are Augustines
"Jimmy Kimmel Live" -- The Temper Trap
"Duets" -- Week 4. Party songs performed, one eliminated. Featuring Kelly Clarkson, John Legend, Robin Thicke and Jennifer Nettles.

Friday, June 15
"VH1's Big Morning Buzz" -- Grace Potter, Rita Ora
"Today Show" -- Justin Bieber

Sunday, June 17
2012 MuchMusic Video Awards -- LMFAO co-host. Performers include  Katy Perry, Kelly Clarkson, Justin Bieber, Flo Rida, Ed Sheeran, Far East Movement, Carly Rae Jepsen and more.

Filed under: Music


No Comments »

Leave a Reply

Back to Top