Alanis Morissette, Slaughterhouse Release Albums; Backstreet Boys Reunite On ‘Good Morning America’

Welcome to Buzzworthy's "The Week In Pop," where we round up new album releases, talk show musical guests, and TV performances by your favorite pop stars and more (so you don't have to).

This week Alanis Morissette releases her eighth studio album. She ushers in the new release on VH1's "Big Morning Buzz Live" on Monday. Meanwhile, Slaughterhouse drop their Shady Records debut, which features their label boss Eminem, while another rap crew in A$AP Mob release their first mixtape since standout A$AP Rocky's debut took the world by storm. Dan Deacon brings his electro-quirk adventures to America, and indie awesomeness unites when Spoon, Wolf Parade/Handsome Furs, and New Bomb Turks' members join forces for Divine Fits, who release their debut album. Last, but far from least, Friday marks the reunion performance with all five Backstreet Boys. Catch them on "Good Morning America."


+ Alanis MorissetteHavoc And Bright Lights: It's been four years since the breakup record Flavors of Entanglement, which was inspired by the end of Alanis' engagement with Ryan Reynolds. In the time between, she switched labels, married Mario "MC Souleye" Treadway, and had her first child. And while family life has brought both contentment and introspection ("Empathy," "'Til You," "Guardian"), she also remains steadfast in her explorations of important topics like gender inequality ("Woman Down"), politics and religion ("Lens"), and self doubt ("Spiral"). Though her ferocity may have softened, there's a quiet roar that fuels her world outlook with the kind of intensity fans expect from the powerful singer/songwriter.

Slaughterhousewelcome to: OUR HOUSE: Where their last LP was thrown together in a week, rappers Royce da 5’9”, Joe Budden, Joell Ortiz, and Crooked I's Shady Records debut took some time to craft. "It's about making songs now, trying to take that next step," label boss Eminem told MTV News. Eminem was hands-on for the project, mixing the set as well as being a featured guest on "Throw That," "Our House" with Skylar Grey, and "Asylum," which appears on the deluxe version. Additional star power comes by way of Busta Rhymes ("Coffin"), Cee Lo Green ("My Life"), Swizz Beatz ("Throw It Away"), and B.o.B. (bonus track "Place To Be").

+ Dan DeaconAmerica: If you've ever seen Dan Deacon in concert, then you know it's an audience participation-required affair, where fans revisit childhood, making human bridges, and follow Deacon's directives to have fun. He's like a dance-commanding Pied Piper. That adventurous and thrilling spirit fuels America, his latest LP. "True Thrush" pulsates with hand claps, blips, bleeps, and sing-along "ah ah" choruses. The itchy rhythms "Lots" and "Crash Jam" are incredibly dance-inducing and the shimmery "Prettyboy" evokes that crushed-out feeling that comes with love's first blossom. There's also a blissful, four-part epic ode to America, which comprises the last four songs on the album.

Check out more new album releases and upcoming TV appearances and performances after the jump.

Divine FitsA Thing Called Divine Fits: Spoon's Britt Daniels, Wolf Parade/Handsome Furs' Dan Boeckner, and New Bomb Turks' Sam Brown formed a synth-rock group who make their debut this week. Daniels and Boeckner take turns as frontman, giving each song a bit of their own band's personalities while still sounding cohesive as a new unit. Boeckner fronts the catchy, synth strut of "My Love Is Real,"  while Daniels' "Flaggin' A Ride" pops with its jittery rhythms. The pair co-wrote the propulsive "What Gets You Alone," and the trio-penned, infectious "Would That Not Be Nice" has a funky bassline swagger.

+ A$AP Mob, Lord$ Never Worry: The latest release from A$AP Rocky and crew drops this week. While the tracklist is still shrouded in secrecy, fans of the eclectic hip-hop crew can expect single "Bath Salt" featuring Flatbush Zombies to be featured on the free mixtape. Also, it should be noted that the cover art for Lord$ Never Worry is, in fact, a GIF of them on fire. Don't say the A$AP Mob was never creative.


Monday, Aug. 27
"VH1's Big Morning Buzz"  -- Alanis Morissette
"Late Show With David Letterman" -- Neon Trees
"Tonight Show With Jay Leno" -- Joshua Radin
"Conan" -- Silversun Pickups

Tuesday, Aug. 28
"VH1's Big Morning Buzz" -- Train
"Tonight Show With Jay Leno" -- Owl City with Carly Rae Jepsen
"Conan" -- Andrew W.K.

Wednesday, Aug. 29
"VH1's Big Morning Buzz" -- The Script
"Tonight Show With Jay Leno" -- Tristan Prettyman
"Conan" -- Owl City with Carly Rae Jepsen

Thursday, Aug. 30
"VH1's Big Morning Buzz" -- Ben Taylor

Friday, Aug. 31
"VH1's Big Morning Buzz" -- Marcus Canty
"Good Morning America" -- Backstreet Boys
"Today" -- Jason Mraz with Christina Perri

Photo credit:  Sony Music

Filed under: Music


No Comments »

Leave a Reply

Back to Top