Gossip, Garbage, Milla Jovovich + More: 5 Must-Hear Pop Songs of the Week

It's Tuesday! Time for another round of "5 Must-Hear Pop Songs of the Week"!

This week's roundup features killer cuts from two of my favorite bands with new albums out this month, a new groove by Rihanna's favorite hitmaker, some booty droppin' motivation from M.I.A.'s protégé and a surprise pop offering by Hollywood's most flawless zombie slayer.

1.) Gossip, "Get A Job"

Gossip wants you to WORK. No, seriously -- shut off the TV and get out of your sweatpants, 'cause it just ain't cute anymore. "Get A Job," one of the freshest, funkiest cuts off of Gossip's incredible new album, A Joyful Noise, is a healthy reminder to all that there's nothing awesome about raging all day and night, as conveyed in one of the best lyrics of 2012: "I'd love to stay and party, but I've got to go to work."

With its biting lyrics ("It was adorable when you were in your 20s/ Not so cute now that you're pushing 30") and raucous rock energy mixed with disco rhythms, "Get A Job" is the perfect inspiration to get up and move (and maybe send out some résumés). It's a fact: There is no better motivational speaker than Beth Ditto, the fiercest guidance counselor of all time. Work!


Listen to more Must-Hear Pop Songs Of The Week after the jump.

2.) Garbage, "I Hate Love"

Oh, l'amour! Who doesn't love being in love? Shirley Manson -- that's who. Hates it!

"I Hate Love" is but one of the many highlights off of Garbage's Not Your Kind Of People, the band's utterly phenomenal return to form after a seven-year absence from the industry. Packed to the brim with crashing guitars and pulse-raising, frantic electronica, the track finds Manson and crew at their most menacing since '98's Version 2.0: "Love makes you crazy with nothing but lies/ Love promises nothing, and then your love dies," the fiery songstress devilishly purrs at one point. With its gorgeously crooned chorus ("I hate love..."), the track is essentially the polar opposite of the late Donna Summer's disco classic, "I Feel Love."

Well then, it's settled: I know who I'm definitely not buying a Valentine's Day card for next year.


3.) Milla Jovovich, "Electric Sky"

Surprise! You know the drop-dead gorgeous model/actress known for slaying zombie mutants in "Resident Evil" and canoodling with Bruce Willis in "The Fifth Element"? Well, she's a pop star too! Almost 20 years since her only studio album, The Divine Comedy, an incredible mixture of weird, brilliant Kate Bush-like lyricism and sprightly folk-rock melodies, Jovivich returns with her first new single, "Electric Sky."

While she's dabbled into electronica on 2004's "I Know It's You" with The Crystal Method, "Electric Sky" sees the sometimes singer turning to sexy New Wave-like synth-pop: "With you, I'm blind/ All I see is your eyes," she purrs above the dark, breeding electronica pulse. You know, if Alice ever gets bored of blasting zombies to bits, she'd make a killing at the local discotheque as a full-fledged Queen of the Dance Floor.


4.) Rye Rye, "Drop"

"Drop to the flo', it's nothin'!" Rye Rye declares off the top of GO! POP! BANG!, the opening track on the 21-year-old Baltimore-bred rapper's long-awaited debut record. After M.I.A. famously signed the songstress as the first artist on N.E.E.T. Records nearly four years ago, Rye Rye's been slowly bringing the beats over the years, including "Never Will Be Mine" (the Robyn-sampling groove from 2011), Rye is coming back (or rather, coming out for the first time) with power, power.

No, but seriously: She is not playing around with these beats, y'all! Produced by Bangladesh (of Ke$ha's "Sleazy," among millions of smashes), "Drop" is just one of the sweat-dripping anthems found all over the album, with about a million dance instructions ("Move your body real slow widdit!"), blaring sirens and a truly sick, slick flow from the rapstress herself.

One thing's for sure: Rye Rye must be making her mentor pretty proud right about now.


5.) Ester Dean, "Baby Making Love"

There's love (which Shirley Manson hates, if you didn't notice) and then there's "baby makin' love," as carefully chronicled in Ester Dean's brand-new cut, which was leaked to the net by...Ester Dean herself.

While the prolific pop hitmaker (the songwriter behind, like, every Rihanna song you've ever heard) continues to put in work at the studio crafting her long-awaited debut, tentatively titled UnderESTAmated (which will probably be really, really amazing), the husky-voiced chanteuse decided to drop a cut online that she was just too excited for fans to hear.

And from the sound of it, she's feeling just as frisky as she ever was while penning RiRi's rudest cuts, including "Rude Boy" and "What's My Name?" "Tonight is all your night, love me all if you like/ I’m here to satisfy, Let’s make baby/ Baby making love," Dean croons above sexy, soulful groove. Much like Beyoncé's 4, the track tinges with a throwback feel-good '70s vibe. So go on: Light a few candles and roll out the bearskin rug -- Ester's here to make a baby!


Bradley Stern is a writer from Connecticut. In his spare time, he enjoys organizing his Britney Spears CD collection in reverse chronological order and plotting the various ways in which he will bring down Katy Perry to become Rihanna's best friend. But most of all, he spends his time tweeting musing daily about pop music on his blog, MuuMuse.

Photo credit: Getty Images

Filed under: Music


No Comments »

Leave a Reply

Back to Top